Faith

“Was I lacking of my yearning to see him, or was I lacking faith?”

Faith

The Great Doctor
Episodes: 24
Genre: Romance, historical, time-travel, fantasy
Year: 2012
Starring: Lee Min Ho, Kim Hee Sun, Lee Philip

Rating: 10/10

I’m not really into kdramas, but not even that could stop me once I knew what Faith is about. It’s the epitome of my favourite story: beautiful romance, engaging history, time-travelling, and a dash of magic.

Yoo Eun Soo is a 33 year old plastic surgeon in modern Seoul. She was originally in general surgery, but jumped ship when she discovered it was unrewarding. Choi Young is a 29 year old warrior in the Goryeo Dynasty. He doesn’t fear death, and spends most of his time sleeping. When the Queen is grievously injured, the King orders Choi Young through a mysterious portal to Heaven to bring back a great doctor.

The last thing Eun Soo expects is to be kidnapped by some drama extra! But she soon realises the warrior is not a movie extra, and this isn’t a dream. She’s stuck 700 years in the past whether she likes it or not, and her life depends on her medical abilities.

Things get complicated when the portal suddenly closes, leaving Eun Soo stranded. Not to mention the hordes of people trying to kill or kidnap the ‘Great Doctor from Heaven’.

Pros
Who doesn’t love a time-travel romance?

I love Eun Soo’s lively, if somewhat neurotic, nature. She doesn’t give in to the usual girly theatrics; she tries to adjust to her situation, even though she’s totally lost. The way she doesn’t stand on formalities made me laugh—speaking informally to the King and Queen.

You can’t help but adore the loyal Choi Young—he’s smart, attacks head-on. And nice to look at ^o^ At first, he made me really sad: he has lost all interest in living, and escapes reality in his sleep. The arrival of Eun Soo changes him, giving him a will to live.  His I’ll-protect-you-no-matter-what attitude made me go all mushy inside *squee*

Faith is a compelling love story. It’s full of tender moments that made my heart ache. Just a touch here, a brush there, and the sweet dialogue… Sigh. I love Choi Young and Eun Soo together; they’re just so selfless, always thinking about and worrying over the other. I also love that their affection for each other wasn’t immediate, but something that grew over time.

But then there’s this thick tension. The whole way through, I wondered if they would be together at the end. Will Eun Soo remain in the past? Will faith help their love surpass time and reason?

And let’s not forget the political intrigue. The complex world of political games Eun Soo has been drawn into keeps you on the edge of your seat. I know I was. I thoroughly enjoyed the secondary plotline of the King and Queen. Not only do we get to watch their blossoming love, we see Gongmin grow from an insecure man to a mature king who values his people.

Speaking of secondary characters, the Woodaichi warriors are so endearing. Their undying loyalty to their general (Choi Young) and their king is touching. They work so hard, often putting their own lives on the line. I felt the loss of every single Wooldaichi keenly T_T They are just so adorable! They have so much fun together, and no matter how much Choi Young gives them a beating, their bond is clear.

The villains aren’t just cardboard cutouts. So often you find the antagonists are so two-dimensional. But in Faith, they each have different facets, strong motivations and goals, weaknesses. They are just as interesting to watch as our protagonists.

And can we have a period drama without the costumes? I’ll admit, I know nothing about ancient Korean fashion. But not once did I feel that the costumes were false, out of place. They are fun to look at, even pretty at times. The detailing on all of Choi Young’s armour is unbelievable.

Gotta love the Queen’s headdresses!

And the last pro: because it’s Lee Min Ho. Just saying.

Cons
One thing seriously bugged me. Flute-villain’s wig. Can it look any more false? I mean, it’s all well and good to use an unnatural hair colour, just as long as it doesn’t look out of place. This silver wig can’t look any sillier if they’d tried. Positive: you get used to it.

And the politics get frustrating. Damn baddies! I got so angry at one point, when Prince Gi Cheol just kept winning out over the King. Part of me couldn’t understand why the King didn’t just have him exiled, or even killed for his crimes. But the other, more logical part of me knew that things don’t work like that. There needs to be evidence, proof of his wrongdoing. But still, it made me so furious!

I cried so much! I suppose this can be considered a good thing, as it shows an emotional connection to the drama, but from about halfway onwards I was pretty much constantly in tears. Not necessarily sad tears, but tears nonetheless. It’s exhausting! T_T

Opinion
This is one drama I can watch continuously. Once I finish it, I feel like starting all over again—it’s just so enthralling! This is an epic experience not to be missed.

Let me know what you think!

