Proposal Daisakusen

“Hallelujah…chance!”

Proposal Daisakusen

Operation Love
Episodes: 11 + SP
Genre: Romance, comedy
Year: 2007
Starring: Yamashita Tomohisa, Nagasawa Masami, Eikura Nana, Hiraoka Yuta

Rating: 9/10

Kawaii! Such a cute jdrama! I was pleasantly surprised by how emotional Proposal Daisakusen is.

Proud and obstinate Iwase Ken (Yamashita) is childhood friends with the cheerful Yoshida Rei (Nagasawa). Ken finally realises he loves Rei—at Rei’s wedding. To another man. Filled with regret, he wishes to go back and change the past, to become the groom by her side. Poof! The fairy of the church appears.

The nice fairy allows Ken to go back in time to each of the pictures in Rei’s wedding slideshow, giving him a second chance at love. But can Ken overcome the pride and hesitation that caused him to screw up the first time around?

Pros
Yamapi ❤ Need I say more?

OK, I will, but really, that should say it all!

I will admit, Yamapi is the reason I watched this series. I was interested in his past dramas, and having watched most of his other shows, I thought it time to watch this one. I was kind of hesitant to watch it, to be honest; I mean, I didn’t particularly want to watch a show where there was a chance there might not be a happily ever after.

But hey, this is Yamapi, right? So I watched it.

I am so glad I did. This is such a sweet and heart-warming drama. You’re probably thinking, not another childhood-friends-turned-lovers plot? Well, shame on you! This series goes beyond the typical trope, delving into guilt, uncertainty, and the reasons for loving someone. The love between Ken and Rei is so pure, yet filled with doubt. Despite their feelings, they just keep missing each other, like parallel lines. I loved seeing Yamapi acting with Nagasawa again—I finally got the romance I felt lacking from Dragon Zakura.

Don’t go thinking this is just another romance. Proposal Daisakusen also explores the nuances of friendship. We see the different ways a group of five friends interact over the years, through high school and university, to real-world jobs. They love, they support one another, they laugh and cry together. It makes me quite envious! These secondary characters gave me some good laughs, and a few teary moments. Eikura Nana and Hiraoka Yuta shine as two of the friends.

I like that Ken doesn’t always succeed in changing the past. It makes the drama less cliché, and gives it more emotional scope. Ken plummets to rock bottom, but instead of simply giving up, he chooses to take the hard path. Ganbatte!

There are times when I almost felt like yelling, “Just confess to her, already!”

Key word there being almost.

The script writer does such a brilliant job of portraying Ken’s hesitancy. I could empathise 100%; I know I would balk at confessing! Yamapi conveys this emotional turmoil perfectly.

This drama is really quite funny at times. For Ken to go back in time, he has to strike a pose and say “Hallelujah Chance!” Ah, so silly!!! I thought the fairy was an amusing character. Oh, and let me correct your misunderstanding—the fairy is male. Surprised, aren’t you?

Also keep an eye out for a marathon runner; he makes the most random appearances in numerous episodes. (It could’ve been all of them—I might easily have missed him!)

I got a laugh out of a brief Kurosagi reference in an early episode ^_^

Cons
I don’t really have anything particularly bad to say. I guess, if you’re watching all 11 eps in one go, it can get a bit repetitive. The episodes all start and end the same way (last two eps excluded). But this is only a minor issue, barely even a blip on the radar.

I also prefer Nagasawa with longer hair. We have to suffer through her short hair in everything except the wedding scenes and the special episode. That’s a negative, right? Or just me being picky?

I suppose another exasperating point is the way the 11th episode ends too soon. Usually, books and shows give you way too much story after the main plot is finished. Well, this is the opposite; it leaves off that final scene you really want. You should’ve seen me at the end: “Whaaat? Noooooo!!!”  Thank gawd for the SP. The special episode is kind of like an epilogue, in a sense. I mean, it has its own plot and stuff, but you get to see that beautiful scene you needed to make everything complete 🙂

Looking back at these cons, there’s no reason for you not to watch Proposal Daisakusen!

Opinion
A bittersweet jdrama that makes you laugh, makes you cry, and makes your heart ache. 

A good lesson from the drama: love is selfish—and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

Let me know what you think!

