Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon

“Pretty Guardian of Love and Justice… Sailor Moon!”

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon

Episodes: 49 (+ SP ep)
Genre: Romance, fantasy, magical girls, mythology
Year: 2003
Starring: Sawaii Miyuu, Hama Chisaki, Kitagawa Keiko, Azama Myu, Komatsu Ayaka, Shibue Joji, Kawabe Chieko

Rating: 7.5/10

I am not ashamed to admit that I am a mega Sailor Moon fan. As a child, I avidly watched the anime, and as I got older, I practically devoured the manga. When I found out there was a live action version of SM, I was so excited.

While I love the jdrama to bits, there are just so many elements I cannot help but LOL at.

You already know the plot—I really don’t think I need to spell it out for you! The drama follows the first story arc of the manga (Acts 1-14) and the first season of the anime.

Pros

I like how the drama follows the manga closely at first, more than the anime did. The manga is exactly how the story should be. Two brownie points! I especially love how they included the concept of Sailor Venus pretending to be the Moon Princess. Why isn’t this in the anime?

It’s a real shame the drama didn’t continue with the next four story arcs from the manga… I would’ve loved to see the Outer Senshi and Chibi Usa.

PGSM is very character-driven. In the anime (and even in the manga at times), I just feel like some character development is lacking. Though the eps follow a similar pattern to the anime, there is always some character progression occurring in each PGSM episode. And the Minako storyline… T_T So emotional.

The girls have normal hair in PGSM, wearing wigs only in their Senshi form. This is a smart change, making it harder for people to guess their real identities.

In the manga and anime, Minako is a wannabe star. In the drama, she’s actually a J-pop idol! ❤ Love it. Her popular hit is called ‘C’est la vie’…get it? Sailor V? Haha, so cute. Ayaka has a lovely voice. And we even get to hear Keiko sing!

I adore the conflict between Usagi and Mamoru. Their arguments and blossoming love is so sweet, I almost got a toothache. “Who are you calling baka?” They are just perfect for each other. Great casting. The addition of the character Hina makes our love story a love triangle. Although I usually hate these, it enhances our desire to see Usagi and Mamoru get together.

The drama has updated technology. Instead of transformation pens and communicators, the Senshi whip out mobile phones. They just take a photo…and voila! They change into these über cute outfits ^o^

Hama Chisaki does a brilliant job playing Sailor Mercury. She goes from the shy, introverted Ami to the feisty Dark Mercury. A great range of acting.

I love Motoki’s turtle fetish.

A little aside note: Kawabe Chieko, who plays Naru (Molly in the English manga and anime), is a J-pop singer; her song ‘Sakura Kiss’ is the theme song to the Ouran High School Host Club anime.

Cons

Now here we get to the funny stuff. You remember Power Rangers? Yeah, well, you wouldn’t be to blame for mistaking PGSM for those colour-coordinated heroes.

Would you believe that Luna and Artemis are plush toys? WTF? Who came up with that?? It’s so weird. And then all of a sudden the stuffed cats become CGI cats. Not quite sure why ^ ^;

On that note, the CGI is pretty terrible. I giggled when I first saw it in the first ep. From the Senshi’s powers to the magical enemies, it’s all rather obviously false. Did they even try to make it look real? I think you have to suspend belief for this one.

And Moon Tiara Boomerang? Really?

The Senshi sailor kit… I scarcely have words. Although the drama gets points for accuracy to the manga, the costumes just look so…fake. Which sucks. I’ve seen cosplay outfits better than these. A positive note is the change of Sailor Moon’s colour from red to pink. Which, now that I’ve seen it, I have to say is really what she should’ve been from the start… Usagi is totally pink.

I can’t stand Sailor Luna. Where exactly did this idea come from? Yes, Luna can become a human in the manga (and one of the anime-movies), but not as some ten-year-old ADHD candy-obsessed kid. For one, Luna is older than that, and two, it did not make me laugh, as I suspect it was meant to do. Worst change EVER.

She kinda reminds me of Chibi Usa…in a very bad way.

I’m not a fan of the added plotline of the past self incarnation Princess Serenity taking over Usagi’s body. It distracted from the point of the first story arc in the manga, which the drama had started following so well. And as a result, the ending is slightly different. I won’t say anything to spoil the drama, but I preferred the ending in the manga.

Opinion

It’s hard for me to objectively view this drama. I love Sailor Moon so much! But I shall do my best.

Despite the fact I consider the special effects, costumes and insultingly-bad fighting to be cons, they actually kinda work for PGSM. Don’t ask me how. It’s just so darn weird it becomes good, I guess (perverse reverse psychology?). And the drama is already so entertaining, the laugh-out-loud cheesy moments just make it that much better.

I recommend you watch it as a group, LOL!

I will always watch anything with Usagi x Mamoru ❤

Let me know what you think!

