Playful Kiss

“Even if he’s cold toward me, even if he says things I don’t like… It was nice just being with him.”

Playful Kiss

Mischievous Kiss / Naughty Kiss
Episodes: 16 (+7 SP eps, hosted on YouTube)
Genre: Romance, comedy, school
Year: 2010
Starring: Jung So Min, Kim Hyun Joong, Lee Tae Sung

Rating: 9.5/10

Once again, I hesitated watching this drama. I couldn’t decide to go with the Japanese version or the Korean >.< I finally decided on the Korean – its hero is nicer on the eyes. Yes, I admit it: I’m a shallow gal.

This is without a doubt one of the cutest kdramas I have ever seen!

Oh Ha Ni, a lively girl with low grades, has a serious crush on the smartest boy in her school, Baek Seung Jo. Ha Ni gathers her courage and writes a love letter to him.

What she didn’t expect was for Seung Jo to hand it back to her – mistakes corrected and graded harshly. The final nail in her coffin: “I hate stupid girls.”

The very same day, Ha Ni’s house collapses in a freak accident, forcing her and her father to seek temporary lodging with her father’s school friend.

But what is this? The school friend is actually Baek Seung Jo’s dad. Which means… Ha Ni will be living under the same roof  as Seung Jo!

Manga-Inspired Plot

This kdrama can really just be summed up in one word: awesome. It is absolutely the best rom-com I’ve seen in quite some time. The characters and dialogue are highly entertaining. I love the way we don’t just see Ha Ni and Seung Jo at high school; their lives progress, and they move on to uni.

Which is really interesting to watch. I’ve never seen/read anything that does this. It allows for a wider range of events to occur, and more angst for Ha Ni, worrying over her future.

Oh Ha Ni

Oh, Ha Ni, you screwball! This clumsy heroine made me smile the entire way through. I’m not even exaggerating. Every single scene is cringe-worthy >o< I kept covering my eyes, wanting to hide from the hole Ha Ni continually digs for herself; but I peered through my fingers, not wanting to miss a single moment of this emotional rollercoaster.

I’ve never cringed for a character so much in my life!

I admire Ha Ni’s tenacity in loving Seung Jo, no matter the obstacle.

Jung So Min gives Ha Ni these cute little mannerisms, and I enjoy watching and listening to her speak. Great choice for Ha Ni.

Baek Seung Jo

What is there to say, except: give me a fan! Whew!! I’m not typically into Korean boys, but Kim Hyun Joong is a total hottie. He sports both straight and wavy hair in Playful Kiss, and both look awesome on him. His deep voice…ah! So lovely.

His acting was good too. He can look coldly at me any time he wants 😛

Seung Jo as a character was your typical cold, intelligent male, who does not express emotion. I love it. He gradually smiles and laughs more, due to the influence of one Oh Ha Ni, but even at the end, he has trouble expressing his feelings for Ha Ni. It’s just so cute!

That Other Guy

Just as Ha Ni has been in love with Seung Jo for years, her fellow classmate Joon Gu is in love with Ha Ni. This is where I took off the 0.5 rating.

I can’t stand Joon Gu.

He is just so…irritating! He never seems to realise what he does is hurting/affecting Ha Ni. He believes that just because he’s doing things for Ha Ni, he’s in the right. Nuh-uh; life doesn’t work that way, pal. His whining got real old, real fast.

I’ll admit, he does shape up as the drama progresses, but he’d already shot his chance with me by then. He is a prime example of why I do not like love triangles (or squares, or pentagons, or…you get the picture).

Other Notable Characters

Seung Jo’s mother is a riot. Living with only three males, she has always wanted a daughter. With Ha Ni under her roof, all her dreams have come true. Shopping, gossiping, matchmaking… His mother acts very young for her age. I love her. Seung Jo’s little brother Eun Jo is pretty funny, too.

And what is an angtsy rom-com without a woman competing for our hero’s attention? Enter Yoon Hae Ra. Virtually a female version of Seung Jo, Hae Ra is the master of passive aggressive, particularly when directed at Ha Ni.

Ha Ni x Seung Jo

Although the kisses are few and far between in this drama (sorry!), they physically progress. The first two are the usual Asian offerings: lips touching, no movement. But still, my heart fluttered as I watched. Then we finally get some eager kissing ^o^

Even though we don’t really see much in the way of embracing until towards the end, I absolutely loved these precious moments. Every time Seung Jo puts his arms around Ha Ni, my heart swells with emotion. Why can’t dramas be more like this one?

And then we have that scene. The one where you know they Do It. All we see is kissing – and yet, I got quite hot under the collar. Where’s that fan? It just goes to show what a huge impact the lead-up to this scene has. Keep an eye out for it!

A Must-Watch

This kdrama is just too fun and funny to sum up here. It’s definitely one I’ll go back to again and again 😀 And as if they knew we couldn’t get enough, they made seven ten-minute episodes as epilogues of sorts. Don’t miss them!

Let me know what you think!

