Saigo no Yakusoku

“This is for him.”

Saigo no Yakusoku

The Last Promise
Episodes: Movie
Genre: Suspense
Year: 2010
Starring: Ohno Satoshi, Sakurai Sho, Matsumoto Jun, Aiba Masaki, Ninomiya Kazunari, Kuroki Meisa, Kitamura Yukiya

Rating: 9/10

As I’m sure is the case with 90% of the people who watch this movie, it caught my attention because of Arashi. Why wouldn’t you watch a movie with Arashi? ^o^ But I have to say, the plotline would’ve hooked me even with the loss of its main attraction.

Saigo no Yakusoku

A major business building is hijacked by masked men, holding over two hundred people hostage. Arashi star as five men trapped inside, and the movie shows their struggles to escape and their interactions with the other hostages.

Will the hijackers’ ransom demands be met, will the hostages escape, or will everything fail and a bomb go off in 90 minutes, killing everyone in the building?

Thoughts

If I had to describe this movie, I’d say it’s like Die Hard, Japanese-style. I mean, it’s nowhere near as kickass, and there’s a strange lack of shooting and violence, but it’s just as suspenseful, and you barrack for all the characters. I’m suprised at how immersed I got into the unfolding drama!

On the flipside of this serious movie, there are actually some lighthearted moments – a bit of comedy to break the tension. It’s a good balance.

The inclusion of some of the charcters’ personal lives adds a nice touch to raise the stakes.

Arashi

This is the first time I’ve seen Arashi act in the one show. And I have to say, I loved it.

Ohno plays a janitor caught in the president’s office when the hijackers take the building, Sho plays a life insurance salesman caught in the main lobby, Aiba plays a coffee shopkeeper caught in a restroom on the 15th floor, Nino plays a security surveillancer caught in the security centre, and MatsuJun plays a delivery guy caught on the 5th floor with the president’s daughter.

I’m suitably impressed by Arashi’s acting abilities. I already knew MatsuJun was awesome, but now I’m loving all of Arashi. Their acting is flawless. Plus, for the most part, they’re good to look at… O.O

I do wish Ohno could’ve played a part that smiles more, though. He frowns way too much. (Ohno, you know you’ll get wrinkles, right?)

Watch it

I don’t really have much else to say. I love the movie. It’s brilliant.

Let me know what you think!

